Long Beach
Police Department

Media Relations
400 W. Broadway
Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 570-5273
Lieutenant Jose Flores

 Child Passenger Safety Week is September 17-23

(Click on image to enlarge)

During Child Passenger Safety Week, the Long Beach Police Department will help parents and caregivers with installing child safety seats.

On Sept. 23, 2023​, ​the​ LBPD will have certified child passenger safety technicians available at ​the Boys & Girls Club of Long Beach located at 700 East Del Amo Boulevard​ to check car seat installations. The technicians will teach parents and caregivers how to install the car seat correctly, as well as educate them on the appropriate seat based on the child’s age and size.

“Children are vulnerable to injury in a crash when they are in the wrong type of car seat for their age and size or if the car seat is installed improperly,” Lieutenant Jose Flores said. “We are here to offer parents and caregivers guidance and reassurances that their child is as safe as possible while riding in the car.”

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), nearly half of car seats (46%) are misused.

Child Passenger Safety Week concludes with National Seat Check Saturday on Sept. 23. ​LBPD‘s car seat check event​ will be from ​9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. ​ at ​700 East Del Amo Boulevard. The event is open to the public. ​

California law requires all children under 2 years old to ride in a rear-facing car seat, unless the child is 40 or more pounds or is 40 or more inches tall. Parents are encouraged to keep your child in rear- and forward-facing seats as long as possible. Children 8 and older or who are at least 4 feet, 9 inches in height, may be secured by a booster seat, but at a minimum must be wearing a properly fitted safety belt. 

To learn more about the ​LBPD's​ Car Seat Program, please contact ​Lieutenant Jose Flores at (562) 570-7292 or jose.flores@longbeach.gov​.

To search for additional car seat programs in your county, visit the Office of Traffic Safety website. You may also contact your local CHP Area Office to schedule a free child safety seat inspection.

Funding for this program is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.