Development Services

New State Building Standards Code Changes to Take Effect

2020 Building Standards Code 375x220

The California Building Standards Code consists of the following 12 parts:

Part 1 California Administrative Code (CAC)
Part 2 California Building Code (CBC)
Part 2.5 California Residential Code (CRC)
Part 3 California Electrical Code (CEC1)
Part 4 California Mechanical Code (CMC)
Part 5 California Plumbing Code (CPC)
Part 6 California Energy Code (CEC2)
Part 7 (Currently Vacant)
Part 8 California Historical Building Code (CHBC)
Part 9 California Fire Code (CFC)
Part 10 California Existing Building Code (CEBC)
Part 11 California Green Building Standards Code (CALGreen)
Part 12 California Reference Standards Code

All architects, engineers, designers, developers, owners and contractors must
be familiar with the codes in effect at the time of plan submittal. LBDS, as
required by State law, cannot approve projects that do not comply with the
codes in effect at the time of plan submittal.

For more information about State-mandated changes, please visit: or plan to attend a community workshop.
Upcoming workshops will be announced on the LBDS website at:

Additional training information and resources related to the 2019 Edition of
California Building Standards Code and the development of the California
Building Standards Code are also available at: