Home » HR » City Employees » Retirement » Types of Retirement

Types of Retirement

The City offers three types of retirements: Service Retirement, Disability Retirement and Industrial Disability Retirement.

Service Retirement

Service retirement is the general retirement from employment after a minimum period of five years of CalPERS-credited service and attainment of the minimum age requirement.

Disability Retirement

Disability retirement consists of a monthly retirement allowance paid to you for the rest of your life or until you recover from your disabling injury or illness. The cause of your disability need not be related to your employment. To qualify for disability retirement, you must be substantially incapacited from performing your job duties, based upon a physical or mental condition which is expected to be permanent or last indefinitely. There is no minimum age requirement; however, you must have at least five years of CalPERS-credited service.

Industrial Disability Retirement (Safety Only)

If your disability is the result of a job-related illness or injury, and you are a safety employee (police officer/firefighter/lifeguard), you may be entitled to an industrial disability retirement. If you retire, you will receive a monthly retirement payment for the rest of your life (or until you recover from your disabling injury or illness). There is no minimum age or service requirement for an industrial disability retirement.

PARS Online