Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Information for Businesses
Employers are required to investigate and respond to any COVID-19 cases in the workplace as outlined by California Assembly Bill 685 (AB 685) and the Cal/OSHA COVID-19 Prevention Emergency Temporary Standards (ETS).
Additionally, per AB 685, non-healthcare workplaces are required to notify the local health department within 48 hours when they meet the reporting threshold of three or more staff cases of COVID-19 in the same setting (i.e. have a potential connection in time and place at the worksite) within a 14-day period.
The following guidance refers to management of COVID-19 cases in non-healthcare, non-residential worksites:
- AB 685 COVID-19 Workplace Outbreak Reporting Requirements (Updated 6/8/2022)
- Employer Guidance on AB 685 Definitions (Updated 6/8/2022)
- See also: Employer Questions about AB 685, California’s COVID-19 Law (Updated 6/8/2022)
- California Department of Industrial Relations of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) COVID-19 Prevention Emergency Temporary Standards – (Updated May 2022) – Details current requirements as a covered employer
- 3205 COVID-19 Prevention
- 3205.1 Multiple COVID-19 Infections and COVID-19 Outbreaks
- 3205.2 Major COVID-19 Outbreaks
- 3205.3 COVID-19 Prevention in Employer-Provided Housing
- 3205.4 COVID-19 Prevention in Employer-Provided Transportation
- See also:Cal/OSHA COVID-19 Prevention Emergency Temporary Standards Frequently Asked Questions and Cal/OSHA Isolation and Quarantine Frequently Asked Questions (Updated 10/13/2022)
- Any additional guidance provided by LBDHHS
For additional questions please contact Long Beach Department of Health and Human Services (LBDHHS) at (562) 570-4302 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
How to Report
The Long Beach Department of Health and Human Services has transitioned to the statewide COVID-19 reporting system, SPOT (the Shared Portal for Outbreak Tracking), effective October 20, 2022.
SPOT allows businesses to send case counts to California’s secure public health data management system called CalCONNECT, where Long Beach Department of Health and Human Services (LBDHHS) can efficiently review reports and determine if additional information or guidance is needed.
Once the reporting threshold has been met, follow the directions below to use the SPOT Intake Form to report COVID-19 case clusters at non-healthcare workplaces.
11-minute video tutorial demonstrating how to use SPOT for workplace liaisons:
1. Navigate to spot.cdph.ca.gov
2. Click the "New Users" button on the left
3. Select "Long Beach" Local Health Jurisdiction (LHJ)
4. Select "Report Workplace Exposure"
5. Input required Key Point of Contact information
- First Name
- Last Name
- Location Name
- Location Type
- Zip/Postal Code
- Start Date of Exposure
- Specific Place in Location
- Number of COVID-19 Positive Cases
- Do people live at this location?
9. A summary of all information entered will appear
- After reviewing the summary for accuracy, scroll to the bottom of the page and click "Finish"
- An automatic notification email with the message that the SPOT Intake Form was submitted successfully, a copy of information entered, and links to various resources.
- You will receive a second email once LBDHHS successfully processes your SPOT Intake Form; this email contains the location and exposure details and instructions on how to report additional cases linked to this cluster.
- How to Report Additional Cases: To report additional cases linked to this case cluster submit another SPOT Intake form, inputting the same Specific Place in Location and a message in the Notes section.
IMPORTANT: When reporting additional cases, under "Number of COVID-19 Positive Cases" input the number of NEW cases, not the total number of cases in the cluster. The processing confirmation email from LBDHHS will confirm that the total case count has been updated.
Download the one page SPOT Reporting Quick Guide for Non-Healthcare Workplaces
Download the full SPOT COVID-19 Reporting Toolkit for Non-healthcare Workplaces
Health Orders and Isolation/Quarantine Information
The City of Long Beach has issued health orders as a means of controlling the spread of COVID-19. The orders are in alignment with other public health agencies in the region, including LA County Public Health and the City of Los Angeles, as well as the State of California.
- 4/21/2023 - Health Officer Order for the Control of COVID-19: Order Requiring Masking and Vaccination of Healthcare Workers
Isolation and Quarantine Public Health Orders
3/3/2023 - See CDPH Guidance for Quarantine of COVID-19-Exposed Individuals
3/17/2023 - Public Health Isolation Order
Is this order mandatory? What happens if I don’t comply?
- Yes. It is a misdemeanor crime for any business to fail to comply with a local Health Officer’s Order.
- This may be punishable by a fine, imprisonment, or both.
- If voluntary compliance cannot be obtained, a citation or fine may be issued to the business staff/representative.
- Administrative penalties and fines may also be issued to business representatives who fail to comply.
- The Water Department may shut off water service to non-essential businesses operating in violation of the Order.
- Businesses may be closed for the duration of the Order if they fail to comply, for example if they fail to implement physical distancing.
- Community members wishing to report violations of this order should contact the non-emergency line at the City’s Communications Center at (562) 435-6711.
- Press Release: Police Increase Health Order Enforcement Methods to Gain Further Compliance (4/10/2020)
- Economic Development Homepage
- City of Long Beach Medical Resource Requests for Businesses
- COVID-19 Business Support
Video Tutorial: SPOT Reporting for Workplaces
11-minute video tutorial demonstrating how to use SPOT for workplace liaisons.