Home » Park » Recreation Programs » Programs and Classes » Live Outdoor Bands » Live Outdoor Bands

Concerts in the Park

Music will be in the air all summer in Long Beach.
Mark your calendars for these outdoor concert events.

Long Beach Community Band

We play music for fun! Experience the magic of live performance. Bring the family (and your picnic basket) to our free concerts and join the fun!



MuniBand

2016 Long Beach Municipal Band Schedule - 107th Year!

All Concerts start at 6:30 p.m. FREE
 “Summer Music = Family Fun,” is the theme of the 106th season of the Long Beach Municipal Band. These great free concerts in the park feature the sounds of big band, pop, jazz, blues and more. All concerts begin at 6:30 p.m. Bring your family, a picnic dinner and enjoy a wonderful evening outdoors in the park.

Tuesday, June 28        Whaley Park
Tuesday, July 5           Whaley Park
Tuesday, July 12         Bluff Park
Tuesday, July 19         Bluff Park
Tuesday, July 26         Bluff Park
Tuesday, August 2       Drake Park

Wednesday, June 29    Los Cerritos Park
Wednesday, July 6       Los Cerritos Park
Wednesday, July 13     Los Cerritos Park
Wednesday, July 20     Los Cerritos Park
Wednesday, July 27     Los Cerritos Park
Wednesday, August 3   Los Cerritos Park

Thursday, June 30       Marine Stadium
Thursday, July 7          Marine Stadium
Thursday, July 14        Marine Stadium
Thursday, July 21        Marine Stadium
Thursday, July 28        Marine Stadium
Thursday, August 4     Marine Stadium

Friday, July 1              El Dorado Park West
Friday, July 8              El Dorado Park West
Friday, July 15            El Dorado Park West
Friday, July 22            El Dorado Park West
Friday, July 29            El Dorado Park West
Friday, August 5          El Dorado Park West

 Log on to www.longbeachcommunityband.org for more information.

Brought to you by these sponsors

 MuniBandSponsor

History

The Long Beach Municipal Band is one of the most distinguished and professional Municipal Bands in the United States. The player personnel in this wonderful ensemble includes the best of the Southern California's symphony, studio recording and jazz performers. This diversity of talent provides Long Beach audiences with impressive concerts of jazz, movie, musical and light classical literature. The Band also combines with talented guest vocalists weekly to guarantee that your family's summer evening in the park will be the highlight of the week.

The Long Beach Municipal Band has been entertaining area residents for over 100 years. Its history is well known and appreciated not only in this community but also in music circles around the world. Present conductor Larry Curtis continues a tradition of musical excellence established by such notable conductors as the famous Sousa cornet player Herbert L. Clarke and composer J. J. Richards.

LBMB_back

Conductor Larry Curtis

Larry Curtis, after a distinguished career in university music performance, has achieved acclaim as a professional conductor. He will return for his sixteenth season this summer as director of the Long Beach Municipal Band, the nation's most distinguished professional community wind ensemble. Curtis' diverse musical background is exemplified by his more recent conducting engagements with the Sydney Wind Orchestra of Australia, the Los Angeles Brass Ensemble, the Pacific Symphony Orchestra and the Americus Brass Band, an ensemble which performs on authentic instruments of the 19th century.

Notable performances include an "Imagination Celebration" concert in conjunction with New York's Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, a live concert broadcast from Suisse Romane Studios in Geneva, Switzerland, a command performance for the "Society for the Preservation of Film Music," as well as conducting at the Hollywood Bowl. He has established an international reputation with his conducting achievements in Japan, Scotland, Canada, England, Austria, Switzerland, Germany and Australia.

LBMB_front

facebookMuniBand