The Office of the Mayor

In 1988, after a citywide initiative, the first citywide election for the position of Mayor was held. Since that first election, the city has had only four elected mayors, Mayor Ernie Kell, Mayor Beverly O'Neill, Mayor Bob Foster and Robert Garcia.

In 1994, Mayor Beverly O'Neill was first elected as Mayor. In 1998, Mayor O'Neill won the Mayoral seat for her second term with nearly 80 percent of the vote. She then won an unprecedented third term as a write-in candidate in 2002.

In 2006, Mayor Bob Foster was elected as Mayor. In 2014, Robert Garcia was elected as Mayor.

About the Office of the Mayor