Home » Long Beach Recycles » Recycling » For Apartments » Apartment Manager FAQs

Apartment Manager FAQs

Long Beach prides itself on being a green, sustainable community. As a city, we have already achieved and surpassed California’s 50 percent waste diversion mandate, and are well on our way to meeting the 75 percent mandate before the 2020 deadline. As we look forward, new regulatory drivers, such as Assembly Bill 341 and Assembly Bill 1826, will provide the groundwork for an even more sustainable future.

Further increasing the reduction, reuse and recycling of waste in our community mean that everyone will have to pitch in and re-evaluate their disposal methods. Commercial and multi-family properties, generating nearly 75% of the solid waste in California, have the greatest opportunity to reduce our waste impact. Much of this waste—consisting of 50% recyclables and 35% food waste, green waste, and other organics—can be recycled into valuable new goods and materials. For this reason, businesses and multi-family dwellings of five or more units have been required since 2012 to collect recycling, and will soon need to plan to add organics (food and green waste) recycling to their operations.

Following is information for commercial properties, multi-family properties, and private haulers.


Do you have a recycling program in place at your commercial or multi-family property? Take a brief survey and share your success.


       

Mandatory Organics Recycling (MOR) | AB 1826

Effective April 1, 2016, State law AB 1826 requires certain commercial and multi-family properties to arrange for organics recycling services.

AB 1826 adds organic waste diversion requirements to businesses and multifamily dwellings of five or more units that generate large quantities of waste. (Note: multi-family dwellings are not required to arrange for source-separated food waste collection under this law. See below for your compliance guidelines.)


Information for Commercial Properties | AB 1826

Key Dates:

  • April 1, 2016
    Businesses that generate eight or more cubic yards of organic waste must arrange organics recycling service for organic material.
  • January 1, 2017
    Generators of four or more cubic yards of organic waste per week are subject to organic waste diversion requirements.
  • January 1, 2019
    Generators of four or more cubic yards of total solid waste per week are subject to organic waste diversion requirements.
  • January 1, 2020
    CalRecycle must determine if organics waste disposal has been reduced by at least 50%. If it has not, CalRecycle is authorized to reduce the threshold for compliance to two cubic yards per week of total solid waste.

FAQs:

What is organic waste?
Organic waste, as defined in AB 1826, includes the following materials: food waste, green waste, landscape and pruning waste, nonhazardous wood waste, and food-soiled paper.

What is organics recycling?
Organic material can be processed in several ways to create a variety of valuable products. Composting, mulching, anaerobic digestion, and rendering are examples of “recycling” organics.

What is the purpose of the new State law, AB 1826?
To reduce greenhouse emissions by diverting commercial and multi-family residential organic waste through organics recycling. This will keep valuable materials out of landfills and create jobs.

How will this State law impact my business or property?
Establishing an organics recycling program can provide an opportunity for businesses to reduce the cost of their refuse collection.

What do I need to do to comply?
Contact your refuse hauler for assistance in determining how many cubic yards of organic waste per week your business generates. This will determine when you will need to comply with AB 1826.

If your business generates eight or more cubic yards of organic waste:

  • Assess options for decreasing your quantity of organic waste. Consider changes to operations that could reduce organic waste at the source, or participation in a food donation/rescue program. Food Finders provides food rescue services for grocery stores, restaurants, caterers, and other food-generating businesses in Long Beach and surrounding communities.
  • Determine your property’s space needs and location for the collection of organics.
  • Review your hauler service agreements and contact your hauler to set up organics recycling service.
  • Prepare for adding organics recycling to your business’s operations. Add organics recycling containers to your facility. Train staff to separate organic waste.
  • Add organics recycling to your waste operations.

I have limited space for containers. How do I comply?
If a private hauler provides your refuse collection, contact your hauler for assistance.

Will my collection schedule change?
Establishing an organics recycling program will divert organics from your waste stream. You may be able to reduce the frequency of refuse service for your business. Consult with your hauler to determine your collection needs.


Information for Multi-Family Properties | AB 1826

Key Date:

  • April 1, 2016
    Any multi-family residential property with five or more units that generates eight or more cubic yards of green waste, landscaping/pruning waste and wood waste per week is required to implement organic waste diversion strategies. Multi-family dwellings are NOT required to arrange for source-separated food waste collection under this law.

Information for Private Refuse Haulers | AB 1826

The commercial sector generates nearly 75% of the solid waste in California.*

Effective April 1, 2016, any business that generates eight or more cubic yards of organic waste per week is required to implement organic waste diversion strategies.

Requirements for private haulers | Commercial Properties:

  • Haulers must make regularly scheduled or on-call organics recycling service available to commercial accounts that request it.
  • Haulers must provide separate containers for organics for their commercial-sector customers.
  • Haulers are responsible for maintaining organics containers by keeping them in good working order, clean of residue and graffiti-free.
  • Haulers must provide their commercial customers with information regarding materials accepted for organics recycling, collection schedule, and hauler contact information.
  • Haulers must divert organic materials generated from these accounts in a manner specified by the State of California.
  • Haulers must provide information to the City of Long Beach regarding the implementation of organics recycling services and collection of organic waste.
  • City of Long Beach staff will periodically visit commercial properties to ensure that the contracted hauler is in compliance with all requirements.

       

Mandatory Commercial Recycling (MCR) | AB341

Effective July 1, 2012, State law AB 341 made recycling mandatory for commercial and multi-family properties with five or more units.


Information for Commercial and Multi-family Properties | AB 341

Properties with City-serviced waste collection: All business and multi-family residential properties with City-serviced refuse collection have access to recycling collection. For assistance email us or call 562-570-2850.

Properties with private-hauler waste collection: All private haulers permitted by the City are required to provide recycling services. Contact your private hauler for assistance. Currently, 15 private haulers are permitted to operate in Long Beach.

Compliance Tips:

  • Determine your space needs and location for the collection of recyclables.
  • Review your hauler service agreements and contact your hauler.
  • Add recycling instructions to your rental agreements.
  • Secure your recycling bins or carts to discourage scavenging of recyclables.
  • Download communication materials to educate your building’s tenants.

FAQs

What is the purpose of the State law (AB 341)?
To reduce greenhouse emissions by diverting commercial and multi-family residential solid waste through recycling. This recycling will keep valuable materials out of landfills and create jobs.

How will this State law impact my business or property?
Establishing a recycling program can provide an opportunity for businesses and multi-family residences to reduce the cost of their refuse collection.

What do I need to do to comply?
Determine the best location and how much space you’ll need for the collection of recyclables. Review your refuse collection service agreement and contact your service provider.

  • If you have City-serviced refuse collection, it’s easy to make arrangements for recycling. The City provides free purple recycling carts. For assistance email us or call 562-570-2850.
  • If a private hauler provides refuse collection, contact your hauler to make arrangements for setting up collection of recyclables.
  • If you are a business, depending on your waste stream, you may also arrange for pickup of recyclable materials by an independent recycler.

Will a recycling program generate revenue?
Businesses may be compensated for source-separated recyclables that have market value, excluding the hauler’s or recycler’s operations cost.

I have limited space for containers. How do I comply?

  • If a private hauler provides your refuse collection, contact your hauler for assistance.
  • If the City provides your refuse collection, the City provides free purple recycling carts that require less space than a 3- or 4-cubic yard bin. The City also provides free technical assistance to any business and multi-family complex in Long Beach. For assistance email us or call 562-570-2850.

Will my collection schedule change?
Establishing a recycling program will divert recyclables from your waste stream. You may be able to reduce the frequency of service for your business or multi-family complex. Consult with your service provider to determine your collection needs.


Information for Private Refuse Haulers | AB 341

Effective July 1, 2012, any business or public entity that generates four or more cubic yards of commercial waste per week is now required to recycle.

Requirements for private haulers | Commercial Properties:

The commercial sector generates nearly 75% of the solid waste in California.*

  • Haulers must provide separate containers for recyclables for their commercial-sector customers.
  • Haulers are responsible for maintaining recycling containers by keeping them in good working order, clean of residue and graffiti-free.
  • Charges for recycling collection services must be included in the base service level price quote and/or contract.
  • Haulers must provide information regarding commodities/materials accepted for recycling, collection schedule, and hauler contact information.
  • Collection day(s) must be posted on the recycling bin/cart and/or building – visible to tenants and City inspectors.
  • City of Long Beach staff will periodically inspect commercial properties to ensure that the contracted hauler is in compliance with all requirements.

Requirements for private haulers | Multi-Family Properties:

Multi-family dwellers make up approximately 56% of the households in Long Beach.

  • Haulers must recycle the same commodities/materials that the City’s residential recycling program currently accepts.
  • Charges for recycling collection services must be included in the base service level price quote and/or contract.
  • Haulers must provide information regarding commodities/materials accepted for recycling, collection schedule, and hauler contact information.
  • Collection day(s) must be posted on the recycling bin/cart and/or building – visible to residents and City inspectors.
  • City of Long Beach staff will periodically inspect multi-family residential properties to ensure that the contracted hauler is in compliance with all requirements.