| || || || |
Everyday is Immunization Day in Long Beach!
All children should be immunized at regular health care visits, beginning at birth and continuing through their teens. By immunizing, we can safeguard our children against the potentially devastating effects of 15 vaccine-preventable diseases. No child should ever have to endure the effects of these diseases simply because he or she was not vaccinated on time. To make an appointment in the Long Beach Department of Health and Human Services Immunization Clinic, please call (562) 570-4315.
|Children and teens should be immunized
against 15 diseases:
Haemophilus Influenza B (HiB)
Rubella (German measles)
Gardasil (HPV Vaccine)
||Without immunizations, serious effects
of childhood diseases can lead to:
- Difficulty breathing
- Severe diarrhea
- Muscle weakness
- Heart problems
- Liver failure
- Brain damage
- Deafness Death
- Type of cervical cancer
- Genital warts
The California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 1, Chapter 4, states:
"All children must have the required immunizations for admission and attendance at a public or private elementary or secondary school, childcare center, day nursery, family day care home, or developmental center."
Requirements for child care facilities:
2-3 months. . . . . . . . . . . . 1 each of Polio, DTaP, Hib, Hep B
The law allows parents/guardians to choose an exemption from immunization requirements based on their personal beliefs or for a physician to indicate the need for an exemption due to a valid medical condition that prohibits immunizations.
4-5 months. . . . . . . . . . . . 2 each of Polio, DTaP, Hib, Hep B
6-14 months. . . . . . . . . . . 3 DTaP, 2 each of Polio, Hib, Hep B
15-17 months . . . . . . . . . . 3 DTap, 2 Hep B, 1 each of MMR, and Hib (both given on or after the 1st birthday)
18 months - 4 years. . . . . . 3 Polio, 4 DTaP, 3 Hep B, 1 each of MMR and Hib (both given on or after the 1st birthday)
To enter or transfer into public or private schools grades kindergarten - 12, children under age 18 years must have proof of the following vaccines:
||4 doses at any age but 3 doses accepted if at least one does was given after the fourth birthday.
|DTap, Td and or Tdap
||Ages 4-6: 5 doses at any age but 4 doses accepted if at least one dose was given after the fourth birthday.
Ages 7-17: 4 doses at any age but 3 doses accepted if at least one dose was given after the second birthday.
||2 doses both on or after the first birthday.
||1 dose (2 doses needed if no vaccine give before 13th birthday).
Vaccine not needed with doctor's records of chickenpox disease. Children who entered any California school prior to July 2001 are exempt from the chickenpox requirement but vaccine is recommended.
The law requires schools, childcare centers, and family child care homes to enforce immunization laws, to maintain immunization records of all children enrolled and to submit annual reports to the local health department.
Parents must not wait until their children enter school to immunize them. Babies are more likely to have complications or die from vaccine preventable diseases than older children. Teenagers need routine boosters for some vaccines. Some children need annual flu shots. To see the current recommended schedule for all childhood vaccines go to http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines.
| || || |