Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is a charter-mandated commission and consists of five members of the community, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. On the first and third Wednesday of each month the Civil Service Commission meets to rule on various personnel-related actions, as well, as any issues arising from tests administered by the Civil Service Department. The Civil Service Commission's predominant role is to hear appeals for disciplinary actions, such as suspensions and dismissals.

The current members of the Civil Service Commission are:

(back row, l-r) Larry Keller, Vice President; Jonathan Gotz, Commissioner; Charles Hicks Jr.,President
(front row, l-r) Jeanne Karatsu, Commissioner; and Carolyn Smith Watts, Commissioner